Hero Image
Trains blend into the environment.


Saturday, December 9 Schedule subject to change
9:00 - 10:00am


10:00 - 10:30am

Next-Generation Passenger Rail Equipment and Schedule

  • Ron Pate/Jason Biggs, WSDOT (tentative)
  • Kathy Holmes, ODOT (invited)
  • Chase Kitchen/Rob Eaton, Amtrak (invited, tentative)
10:30 - 10:55am

More Trains and Funding: FRA Grant Opportunities, Long-Distance Study, Rail Projects

  • Dan Bilka, All Aboard Northwest, Moderator (confirmed, virtual)
  • Alan Adolf, Yakima Valley Conference of Governments (confirmed, remote)
  • Mike Christensen, UtahRPA (confirmed)
  • Chris Smith, Just Crossing Alliance (confirmed)
11:00am - 11:55am

Keynote Addresses: Why High-Tech Driving Doesn't Solve Traffic, and Why a Robust Rail Network is a Better Alternative

  • Dr. Peter Norton, University of Virginia
  • Meredith Richards, Virginia Rail Policy Institute and Rail Passengers Association

Lunch and Business Meetings

  • Breakout Session 1: AORTA Annual Meeting
  • Breakout Session 2: AAWA Annual Meeting
12:45 - 1:40pm

2024 State Legislative Agendas

  • Luis Moscoso, AAWA/AORTA, Moderator
  • Rep. Jake Fey, WA Legislature (invited)
  • Rep. Andrew Barkis, WA Legislature (tentative)
  • Sen. Jeff Wilson, WA Legislature (confirmed)
  • Sen. Chris Gorsek, OR Legislature (confirmed)
  • Rep. Nancy Nathanson, OR Legislature (invited)
  • Rep. Manwaring, ID Legislature (tentative, virtual)
  • Sen. Matt Boehnke, WA Legislature (tentative, remote)
  • Mayor Maclean, Bre Brush, Kathy Griesmyer, City of Boise (tentative)
1:45 - 2:30pm

Transportation Equity and Accessibility

  • Hollyanna Littlebull, UW (invited)
  • Anna Zivarts, Disability Mobility Initiative (confirmed)
2:40 - 3:45pm

Dreams Into Reality: Building Coalitions, Creating Effective Community Outreach

Include report on health care survey.

  • Charles Hamilton, AAWA/AANW, Moderator
  • Anna Zivarts, Disability Mobility Initiative (confirmed)
  • Mike Christensen, UtahRPA (confirmed)
  • Dr. Breck Lebegue, Washington Physicians for Social Responsibility (confirmed, remote)
  • Tim Gould, Sierra Club (confirmed)
  • Chris Smith, Just Crossing Alliance (confirmed)